New to Maca? Start Here...

Is Maca Powder Gluten Free?

With many people reporting stong allergies to gluten, we are not surpirsed that this is one of the most common questions we receive.  

The good news for everyone interested in Maca and worried about gluten is that Maca is indeed 100% gluten free.   

Although Maca powder is a food and officially categorized as a "flour," it comes from a root (think is maca gluten freeturnip or radish) and not a grass or grain.   Gluten is not found in roots but only in certain grains, like wheat, barley, rye and spelt.   

Beacuse of that Maca powder is fine to use in gluten free cooking and baking and is safe for anyone with a gluten intolerance.   

If you are considering trying Maca for the first time, there are a few things to be aware of beyond gluten.

  1. Maca has never been found to be an allergen of any kind.  However, we have had a few customers report that they have iodine sensitivities and that Maca affected those.   Maca does contain iodine, so if that is a concern for you, please consult your doctor. 
  2. About 5-10% of people have trouble digesting Raw Maca powders.   This is due to the starch content present in the powder.   If you have trouble digesting other strachy foods such as potatoes, we recomend using Gelatinized Maca instead.  Gelatinized Maca has had all starch content removed through a special cooking process. 
  3. Taking Maca for the first time sometimes gives sensitive people "too much energy."   If that's the case for you, simply reduce your dosage and work up gradually.   
  4. Finally, Maca is a food and not a drug or supplement or even an herb.   It takes time to work in the body and consistency is required to get the maximum benefits.  Most people feel initial effect from Maca within 1 month after taking it, but it takes longer for others.   Our recommendation is to stay with it and to remember that for indigenous mountain people in Peru Maca is part of their every day diet.  

Try some of our amazing Maca Recipes here.

 If you have any further questions please let us know.  

Enjoy the day!

does maca contain gluten

×
×